Important Dates

  • 18 Nov, 2015 - Abstracts Due
  • 22 Nov, 2015 - Submissions Due
  • 26 Jan, 2016 - Notification

Special Tracks

ICAPS 2016 Robotics Track

Call For Papers

In 2016 ICAPS will run a robotics track as part of the main conference. Following on from successful events in 2014 and 2015, this will again emphasize the importance and opportunities of reuniting the fields of AI planning and (autonomous) robotics. This provides an opportunity for the AI planning and scheduling community to respond to the challenges that robotics applications pose and contribute to the advance of intelligent robotics. This is also an opportunity for the robotics community to propose integrated solutions, discuss its challenges related to planning for autonomous robots (deliberative, reactive, continuous planning and execution etc.) and present its expectations of the planning and scheduling community.

In this regard, the robotics track aims to present research at the intersection of the fields of robotics and planning & scheduling. We welcome work on the planning, execution and coordination of individual or teams of robots, at the level of tasks, (manipulation) actions, perception, behaviors and motions. Submission of work that has been demonstrated on actual robot systems is specifically encouraged. Topics include, but are not limited to:

  • robot motion, path, task and mission planning and execution;
  • learning action and task models;
  • acquisition of planning models for robotics;
  • failure detection and recovery;
  • integrated planning and execution in robotic architectures;
  • planning for long-term autonomy in robotics;
  • planning and coordination methods for multiple robots;
  • mixed-initiative planning and variable autonomy for robotic systems;
  • human-aware planning and execution in human-robot interaction, including safety;
  • adversarial action planning in competitive robotic domains;
  • planning for perception;
  • formal methods for robot planning and control;
  • planning domain representations for robotics applications;
  • benchmark planning domains for robots;
  • real-world planning applications for autonomous robots.

Author Guidelines

Authors may submit long papers (8 pages plus up to one page of references) or short papers (4 pages plus up to one page of references). The type of paper must be indicated at submission time.

All papers, regardless of length, will be reviewed against the standard criteria of relevance, originality, significance, clarity and soundness, and are expected to meet the same high standards set by ICAPS. Short papers may be of narrower scope, for example by addressing a highly specific issue, or proposing or evaluating a small, yet important, extension of previous work or new idea.

Authors making multiple submissions must ensure that each submission has significant unique content. Papers submitted to ICAPS 2016 may not be submitted to other conferences or journals during the ICAPS 2016 review period nor may they be already under review or published in other conferences or journals. Overlength papers will be rejected without review.

All submissions will be made electronically, through the EasyChair conference system: Submissions must be in the AAAI format. For more information, see the submission instructions on ICAPS 2016 submission page.

Submitted PDF papers should be anonymous for double-blind reviewing, adhere to the page limits of the relevant track CFP/submission type (long or short), and follow the AAAI author kit instructions for formatting:

In addition to the submitted PDF paper, authors can additionally submit supplementary material (videos, technical proofs, additional experimental results) for their paper. Please make sure that the supporting material is also anonymized. Papers should be self-contained; reviewers are encouraged, but not obligated, to consider supporting material in their decision.

The proceedings will be published by AAAI Press. All accepted papers will be published in the main conference proceedings and will be presented orally at the conference (full papers will be allocated more time).

Important Dates

  • 18 November, 2015 - Abstracts (electronic submission) due
  • 22 November, 2015 - Papers (electronic submission, PDF) due
  • 26 January, 2016 - Notification of acceptance

The reference timezone for all deadlines is UTC-12. That is, as long as there is still some place anywhere in the world where the deadline has not yet passed, you are on time!

Organizing Committee

Robotics Track chairs:

  • Nick Hawes (University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)
  • AndreA Orlandini (CNR-ISTC, Italy)

Conference Chairs

  • Andrew Coles (King's College London)
  • Daniele Magazzeni (King's College London)

Program Chairs

  • Amanda Coles (King's College London)
  • Stefan Edelkamp (University of Bremen, Germany)
  • Scott Sanner (NICTA and ANU, Australia)

Program Committee

  • Anthony Barrett (NASA JPL, USA)
  • Michael Beetz (Bremen University, Germany)
  • Sara Bernardini (University of London, United Kingdom)
  • Michael Cashmore (King's College, United Kingdom)
  • Amedeo Cesta (CNR-ISTC, Italy)
  • Louise Dennis (University of Liverpool, United Kingdom)
  • Alberto Finzi (University of Napoli "Federico II", Italy)
  • Robert Fitch (University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Malik Ghallab (LAAS-CNRS, France)
  • Catherine Harris (University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)
  • Joachim Hertzberg (University of Osnabrück, Germany)
  • Laura Hiatt, (Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Andreas Hofmann (MIT, USA)
  • Felix Ingrand (LAAS/CNRS, France)
  • Erez Karpas (MIT, USA)
  • Sven Koenig (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Jonas Kvarnstrom (Linköping University, Sweden)
  • Bruno Lacerda (University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)
  • Maxim Likhachev (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Francisco Melo (Instituto Superior Tecnico/INESC-ID, Spain)
  • Lenka Mudrova (University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)
  • Daniele Nardi (Sapienza University, Italy)
  • Bernhard Nebel (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität, Germany)
  • Tim Niemueller (Aachen University, Germany)
  • Leslie P. Kaelbling (MIT, USA)
  • Russell Knight (NASA JPL, USA)
  • Amit Kumat Pandey (Aldebaran, France)
  • Lars Kunz (University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)
  • Federico Pecora (Örebro University, Sweden)
  • Ron Petrick (University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom)
  • Frederic Py (Faculty of Engineering, Univ. of Porto, Portugal)
  • Kanna Rajan (Faculty of Engineering, Univ. of Porto, Portugal)
  • Bram Ridder (King's College, United Kingdom)
  • Benjamin Rosman (Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, South Africa)
  • Alessandro Saffiotti (Örebro University, Sweden)
  • Reid Simmons (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Siddarth Srivastava (Berkeley University, USA)
  • Manuela Veloso (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Minlue Wang (University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)